Recommended Reports – some selected highlights

Balloon Cycle ride Happy World Theme Park Amusement Park Fairground Myanmar Burma Yangon Rangoon Urbex Adam X Urban Exploration Access 2016 Abandoned decay lost forgotten derelict location creepy haunting eerie

Explore #199: Happy World Theme Park, Yangon, Myanmar – November 2016

History (rewritten and abridged from here and here) The park opened in 1997 to great fanfare in a lavish ribbon-cutting ceremony attended by the great and powerful in Myanmar’s military dictatorship and even the Japanese ambassador, whose country supplied the rides. State media called the park “a recreation centre for the people”, with “world class… modern games”. Not to be confused with the other ‘Happy World’ park in Yangon which is still in operation, this Park closed under mysterious circumstances…

6
Read More
Satellite Antenna Antennae night photography night time milky way stars astrophotgraphy Mullard Radio Astronomy Observatory Cambridge UK Urbex Adam X Urban Exploration Access 2016 Abandoned decay lost forgotten derelict location haunting eerie

Explore #187: Mullard Radio Astronomy Observatory, Cambridge – June 2016

History The Mullard Radio Astronomy Observatory(MRAO) is home to a number of large aperture synthesis radio telescopes, including the One-Mile Telescope, 5-km Ryle Telescope, and the Arcminute Micro kelvin Imager. Radio interferometry started in the mid-1940s on the outskirts of Cambridge, and with funding from the Science Research Council and a donation of £100,000 from Mullard Limited, construction of the Mullard Radio Astronomy Observatory was completed and opened by Sir Edward Victor Appleton on 25 July 1957. The site is…

4
Read More
Outside exterior external back rear grand ornate Palac Krowiarkach Palac K Palace Urbex Poland Adam X Urban Exploration Access 2016 Abandoned decay lost forgotten derelict location haunting eerie

Explore #175: Pałac w Krowiarkach aka Palac K, Poland – May 2016

Explore #15 of ‘The Picnics & Palaces Tour’ The fifth day of our German-Polish odyssey began with another permission visit to a once-grand palace whose future now seems precarious. History (translated and rewritten from here and here). In 1678 a wooden castle was erected by the Beess family in the village of Krowiarki, with ownership passing to Leopold Paczyński in 1690 and Graf Strachwitz in 1800. In 1826 Ernest Joachim Strachwitz built a new brick palace on the site, and…

2
Read More