Wheelchair

Front exterior external main building entrance Sunnyside Royal Hospital Montrose Scotland Adam X Urbex Urban Exploration Access 2018 Abandoned decay ruins lost forgotten derelict location creepy haunting eerie

Explore #229: Sunnyside Royal Hospital, Montrose, Scotland – September 2018

Explore #7 of the ‘North of The Wall’ Tour Day Three After the previous day’s explore of the relatively small Stratheden Hospital, we headed for something larger and grander… History (abridged and rewritten from Wiki) Sunnyside Royal Hospital was a psychiatric hospital located in Hillside, north of Montrose, Scotland. The hospital was founded in 1781 as the Montrose Lunatic Asylum, Infirmary & Dispensary, and obtained a Royal Charter in 1810. In 1858 a new improved asylum was built in the…

0
Read More
split corridor children's ward colourful windows stained glass home made Stratheden Hospital Fife Scotland Adam X Urbex Urban Exploration Access 2018 Abandoned decay ruins lost forgotten derelict location creepy haunting eerie

Explore #228: Stratheden Hospital, Fife, Scotland – September 2018

Explore #6 of the ‘North of The Wall’ Tour Next up on our Scottish tour was a partly disused hospital… History (abridged and rewritten from Wiki) Stratheden Hospital was originally called Fife and Kinross District Asylum, and renamed in 1948. It was a centre of excellence in Child and Family Psychiatry from the 1960s, and part of the site still provides psychiatric healthcare to this day. In May 2016 a new intensive psychiatric care unit opened at a cost of…

0
Read More
pink and blue corridor ivy peeling paint Connacht District Lunatic Asylum St Brigid’s Hospital Adam X Urbex Urban Exploration Ireland Ballinasloe Access 2017 Abandoned decay lost forgotten derelict location creepy haunting eerie

Explore #217: Connacht District Lunatic Asylum / St Brigid’s Hospital, Ballinasloe, Ireland – September 2017

Explore #2 of the ‘Almost Died Tour’ The first proper explore of our Ireland trip was an absolute beauty… History (abridged and rewritten from here and here) Connacht District Lunatic Asylum (latterly known as St Brigid’s Hospital) was one of the earliest of the Irish district asylums, and opened in Ballinasloe Co. Galway in 1833 with an intial capacity of 150. It was designed by William Murray, based on an earlier design by Francis Johnson, and built to an X-shaped…

3
Read More