Explore #6 of the ‘North of The Wall’ Tour
Next up on our Scottish tour was a partly disused hospital…
History (abridged and rewritten from Wiki)
Stratheden Hospital was originally called Fife and Kinross District Asylum, and renamed in 1948. It was a centre of excellence in Child and Family Psychiatry from the 1960s, and part of the site still provides psychiatric healthcare to this day. In May 2016 a new intensive psychiatric care unit opened at a cost of £4.4m, providing a communal lounge, rooms for rehabilitative and therapeutic activities, access to an outdoor courtyard, private meeting rooms for visits from families or visitors, an IT suite and eight new patient en-suite rooms.
Part of the site closed in 2011 during a reorganisation of acute old age in-patient services in central and east Fife, when one third of the 45 former patients were successfully discharged for community-based treatment.
This was a tricky but rewarding explore. As most of the site is still active, and we arrived mid-afternoon, we had to be extra cautious in keeping out of sight – both whilst searching for access, and also once inside. After a lot of persistence we finally found a way in, and spent an enjoyable couple of hours photographing what remains…
We then headed off to check out a possible location to camp for the night. Unfortunately that turned out to be a no go, and we spent a frustrating hour or so driving around the Scottish countryside whilst zooming in and out on Google maps to search for a suitable alternative. Eventually tiredness and the need for a beer won out, and we admitted defeat and checked into a small paid campsite for the evening. Soon our disposable BBQ was cooking away, and we were relaxing after another great day of exploring.
Thanks for sneaking in.