Palaces, Castles & Mansions

Hallway corridor large stone fireplace Palac w Zyrowej Urbex Poland Adam X Urban Exploration Permission Visit Access 2016 Abandoned decay lost forgotten derelict location haunting eerie

Explore #178: Pałac w Żyrowej, Poland – May 2016

Explore #18 of ‘The Picnics & Palaces Tour’ Next up, yep you guessed it, another Polish palace! History (translated and rewritten from here). The site of the palace was originally owned by the Opole duchy, dating as far back as 1280. From 1447 it was the seat of the von Zyrowskich family, before being bought in 1631 bought by Count Melchior Ferdinand von Gaschine, who built the palace in the form of a mansion. Between 1899 to 1945 the property…

5
Read More
Neoclassical Palace exterior outside Szczyty Urbex Poland Adam X Urban Exploration Access 2016 Abandoned decay lost forgotten derelict location haunting eerie

Explore #177: Neoclassical Palace, Szczyty, Poland – May 2016

Explore #17 of ‘The Picnics & Palaces Tour’ En route to a much larger palace we paid a quick pit stop at another once-grand residence… History (translated and rewritten from here and here). The village of Szczyty used to lie on an important amber trade route from Southern to Northern Europe. Records going back to 1611 mention the von Hauenschild family as owners of the village. By the 19th century a neoclassical palace was erected, surrounded by an attractive landscaped…

0
Read More
Outside exterior external back rear grand ornate Palac Krowiarkach Palac K Palace Urbex Poland Adam X Urban Exploration Access 2016 Abandoned decay lost forgotten derelict location haunting eerie

Explore #175: Pałac w Krowiarkach aka Palac K, Poland – May 2016

Explore #15 of ‘The Picnics & Palaces Tour’ The fifth day of our German-Polish odyssey began with another permission visit to a once-grand palace whose future now seems precarious. History (translated and rewritten from here and here). In 1678 a wooden castle was erected by the Beess family in the village of Krowiarki, with ownership passing to Leopold Paczyński in 1690 and Graf Strachwitz in 1800. In 1826 Ernest Joachim Strachwitz built a new brick palace on the site, and…

2
Read More