Explore #22 of ‘The Picnics & Palaces Tour’
Our palaces megatour continued with a quick late-afternoon stopover at another grand old palace which has fallen into serious (and now terminal) decline…
History (translated and rewritten from here).
The baroque Palace Belcz dates back to 1787, when it was owned by the von Kalkereuth family. The estate then passed to the Schönborns, before being bought by Ludwig Adolph Theodor Dürr in 1898.
During World War II the palace was commandeered by the German state, possibly due to the owner’s debt.
In the Post-War years the palace and grounds went through various uses, including an agricultural school, a factory, and from the 1970s until 1997 was an educational centre for mentally disabled children.
The palace is now privately owned, but sits empty and uncared for. On 15 May 2016 (just days after our visit), a huge fire destroyed almost the entire roof of the palace.
This was a relaxed little explore – as you will see there’s not a huge amount left of interest these days other than the smashed remains of the double staircase…
…a few features still remain in this side room, such as the ornate ceiling and crest above the fireplace…
…and how it once looked in its heyday a century ago…
The view from a balcony on the first floor landing…
Thanks for stopping by.
Triste fin 🙁
What a shame such a stately home has ended its life in this way. Assume it’s too expensive to be renovated ?
Wow mate – there’s some super shots in this set! Great to see! 🙂