access

Gantries inside interior The Snow Factory Soda Ash Works Wallerscote Island Northwich Urbex Urban exploration Adam X Urban Exploration Photo photos photographs UK March 2015 report abandoned disused derelict decay decayed

Explore #129: Wallerscote Island Soda Ash Works, aka The Snow Factory, Northwich – March 2015

After our quick explore of the House of the Soldier’s Widow we were in the mood for something larger and more industrial, so pressed on to this huge Soda Ash works… History Founded by industrial chemists John Brunner and Ludwig Mond, whose partnership began in 1873, the Winngton Works soda ash factory was built in Northwich due to its situation on a 600-foot thick bed of salt and proximity to the Buxton limestone quarries. Soda ash (sodium carbonate) is a…

1
Read More
Thamesteel sheerness Thames Steel Urbex Urban exploration steel works mill industry industrial Adam X Urban Exploration Photo photos photographs UK March 2015 report abandoned disused derelict decay decayed

Explore #125: Thamesteel Steelworks, Sheerness, Kent – March 2015

After our unexpected success in exploring Finsbury Park reservoir, fellow explorer Nick and I continued our drive South, and rolled in to Sheerness just before dawn. History (amended and abridged from here and here) Thamesteel is a large former steel foundry and steel rolling site in Sheerness, on the Isle of Sheppey in Kent. Construction was given the go-ahead in 1971, and completed in 1972 at an initial cost of circa £10m (over £100m in today’s money). The works, owned…

2
Read More
Finsbury Park Reservoir Hornsey Wood Reservoir Urbex Urban Exploration Photo photos photographs underground Adam X report abandoned disused hidden lost derelict decay decayed forgotten haunting

Explores #124 & #124a (revisit): Finsbury Park / Hornsey Wood reservoir, London – March 2015

Something a wee bit special up next – a beautiful disused Victorian reservoir hidden beneath the heart of London. History Finsbury Park Reservoir, also known by its original name of Hornsey Wood reservoir, was built by the East London Water Works Company between 1868-1869. Lying beneath Finsbury Park, with a capacity of some 5,000,000 gallons, it was used up until the early 21st Century. In 2012 a survey spotted a crack within the brick arches, and the park above it…

4
Read More