entrance

Old classroom blackboard desks De Salle College School Colaiste Iosagain Ballyvourney County Cork Adam X Urbex Urban Exploration Ireland Access 2017 Abandoned decay lost forgotten derelict location creepy haunting eerie

Explore #220: Ballyvourney De Salle College, County Cork, Ireland – September 2017

Explore #5 of the ‘Almost Died Tour’ The final explore of our highly enjoyable Ireland trip was a quick look around a very decrepit former college… History Coláiste Íosagáin (to use its Gaelic name) was a boarding school, purpose-built by the Office of Public Works in two phases shortly after Irish independence around 1933 and 1939. The focus of the school was to promote and revive use of the Irish language. In 1960 the school was purchased by the De…

0
Read More
wooden dividers ward Ennis District Lunatic Asylum Our Lady's Hospital Ennis County Clare Adam X Urbex Urban Exploration Ireland Ballinasloe Access 2017 Abandoned decay lost forgotten derelict location creepy haunting eerie

Explore #219: Ennis District Lunatic Asylum / Our Lady’s Hospital, Ennis, County Clare, Ireland – September 2017

Explore #4 of the ‘Almost Died Tour’ On the final morning of our Irish roadtrip we decided to head to another former asylum, which whilst not being quite as photogenic as the Connacht District Lunatic Asylum, was still well worth an explore… History (abridged and rewritten from here) Ennis District Lunatic Asylum opened in 1868, built to designs by architects William Fogerty and AC Adair at a cost of £35,000. The hospital consists of an extensive range of buildings on…

4
Read More
pink and blue corridor ivy peeling paint Connacht District Lunatic Asylum St Brigid’s Hospital Adam X Urbex Urban Exploration Ireland Ballinasloe Access 2017 Abandoned decay lost forgotten derelict location creepy haunting eerie

Explore #217: Connacht District Lunatic Asylum / St Brigid’s Hospital, Ballinasloe, Ireland – September 2017

Explore #2 of the ‘Almost Died Tour’ The first proper explore of our Ireland trip was an absolute beauty… History (abridged and rewritten from here and here) Connacht District Lunatic Asylum (latterly known as St Brigid’s Hospital) was one of the earliest of the Irish district asylums, and opened in Ballinasloe Co. Galway in 1833 with an intial capacity of 150. It was designed by William Murray, based on an earlier design by Francis Johnson, and built to an X-shaped…

3
Read More