picnics and palaces

Neoclassical Palace exterior outside Szczyty Urbex Poland Adam X Urban Exploration Access 2016 Abandoned decay lost forgotten derelict location haunting eerie

Explore #177: Neoclassical Palace, Szczyty, Poland – May 2016

Explore #17 of ‘The Picnics & Palaces Tour’ En route to a much larger palace we paid a quick pit stop at another once-grand residence… History (translated and rewritten from here and here). The village of Szczyty used to lie on an important amber trade route from Southern to Northern Europe. Records going back to 1611 mention the von Hauenschild family as owners of the village. By the 19th century a neoclassical palace was erected, surrounded by an attractive landscaped…

0
Read More
Nice Stairs Villa Mansion Urbex Poland Adam X Urban Exploration Access 2016 Abandoned decay lost forgotten derelict location haunting eerie

Explore #176: Villa ‘Nice Stairs’, Poland – May 2016

Explore #16 of ‘The Picnics & Palaces Tour’ Next up was a quick stopover at this large abandoned house, now lost in overgrown woodland. Click on any photo to OPEN LIGHTBOX AND VIEW LARGE We picked our way through the undergrowth to the front of the property… Straining to get the full sweep of the staircase within a single shot, I crammed myself into a dust and cobweb-filled corner, crumbling paint and plaster falling off the wall down the back…

0
Read More
Outside exterior external back rear grand ornate Palac Krowiarkach Palac K Palace Urbex Poland Adam X Urban Exploration Access 2016 Abandoned decay lost forgotten derelict location haunting eerie

Explore #175: Pałac w Krowiarkach aka Palac K, Poland – May 2016

Explore #15 of ‘The Picnics & Palaces Tour’ The fifth day of our German-Polish odyssey began with another permission visit to a once-grand palace whose future now seems precarious. History (translated and rewritten from here and here). In 1678 a wooden castle was erected by the Beess family in the village of Krowiarki, with ownership passing to Leopold Paczyński in 1690 and Graf Strachwitz in 1800. In 1826 Ernest Joachim Strachwitz built a new brick palace on the site, and…

2
Read More