This was a quick explore with Dora P, squeezed in between visits to friends and family after Christmas. It was a revisit to the Father Hudson’s complex of buildings in Coleshill following our previous visit to St Mary’s nursing home in September 2013.
A brief history:
The Birmingham Diocesan Rescue Society for the Protection of Homeless and Friendless Catholic Children was established in 1902 with Father Hudson as its first Secretary and Administrator. Father Hudson remained in Coleshill from 1898 until 1934. During that time the work of the Rescue Society grew, in particular the children’s homes. Its expansion included St. Vincent’s, a home for working boys in Moseley Road Birmingham, St. Edwards Boys Home, St George’s and St. James’ Cottage Homes for boys and St Gerard’s hospital for children in Coleshill. St. Gerard’s was the result of Father Hudson’s vision for a purpose built infirmary, not just for the boys of St. Edwards but for those from all Catholic homes in the Diocese and the Catholic children from the workhouse hospitals. Two new schools were established in Coleshill through the Society. Father Hudson’s devotion to the children, his patience, energy and great administrative skills guided this development and the Rescue Society became known colloquially as Father Hudson’s Homes…
St Gerard’s Orthopaedic Hospital was part of Father Hudson’s Society buildings across the UK. It provided services for locals and the neighbouring boys school, along with care for orphaned kiddies of early to mid 1900′s. The chain of society buildings started to close in the 1980′s, due to changes in NHS funding and how orphaned children were dealt with as a whole. St Gerard’s closed in 1988.
Thanks for stopping by.